Reliance

Growing up, my parents always try to teach me to become more independent. Of course, living in the same roof as them, it’s quite hard to do. I still depend on them for food, shelter, bills…etc. Although, there are things that I do take responsibility for and practice my independency. Being independent is not fun, that means we have more responsibilities, which leads to more stress. But that’s part of growing up, we can’t always depend on someone, someone might depend on us, and so we need to learn how to depend on our self.

I have met a bunch of people that depend on another person for happiness or securement. When I meet these people, I don’t really know what to think. I guess we all depend on somebody right? I depend on someone! I have no right to judge them. However, what if the person we’re depending on walks away from us? Then what? Are we gonna chase them, are we gonna just stand there? No. We need to move on. We need to let go. And start thinking about our self. That may sound very selfish, but in order to love someone, we need to start knowing our self more and loving who we are. And loving someone doesn’t mean romantically in particular. It means to everyone we meet.

It’s not wrong or bad to depend on someone, like I said, we all do that, including me! These people that we depend on means they are important to us and we need them. And that’s very sweet and heart warming. However, make sure to always leave a space for yourself, because nothing in this world is eternal, it’s all temporary.

Psalm 62:5-6

10 thoughts on “Reliance

      1. Okay! I wasn’t quite sure if you were younger or older than that. But I can see that now in your writing. It’s amazing how much I have changed since I was 20. 20 was the year I decided to move out on my own and finally become responsible. Not fun!

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

